Year Of The Asian Reading Challenge || Cute Cobras And Asian Authors

Hello loves! So as you may know, I’m a total mood reader and definitely don’t stick to a TBR, ever, and never set any real reading goals for myself besides my Goodreads challenge because I just like to read whatever I feel like reading! However, the other day on my reader, I saw over at Lily’s blog, the Year of the Asian Reading Challenge!! I’m half Asian (Taiwanese to be exact!), so Asian representation is so important to me! So when I saw this reading challenge, I was like, screw this whole mood reader thing, I have to get on board!

logo

The challenge is to read as many books written by Asian authors as possible! These books can be back list, new releases, ARCs, of any format and length as long as they are started and ended in 2019! The challenge is hosted by Lily from Sprinkles of Dreams, CW from The Quiet Pond, Shealea from Shut Up Shealea, and Vicky from Vicky Who Reads.

The challenge level I’ve decided to aim for is Indian Cobra: 11-20 books! I’m aiming for 100 total books this year, so hopefully that’s not too hard with my mood readerness and unwillingness to adhere to a TBR. Also, my Chinese Zodiac animal is a snake, so it’s just perfect for me ❤

cobra

I’m really excited to read more Asian books this year and get to explore my culture in books more! I’m Asian American, living in the United States, so I’m not as exposed to my Asian culture as much as my American culture, and I’m definitely ready for that to change! Here are a few of the books I hope to read this year!

  • Descendant of the Crane by Joan He
  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C Dao
  • Empress of All Seaons by Emiko Jean
  • Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan
  • China Rich Girlfriend and Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan

That’s all the books by Asian authors I can think of right now! I’m definitely open to recommendations though: hit me up with some amazing Asian books I should read 😀 And if you’re looking for books to read for this challenge, check out my list of my favorite Asian books from last year 😀

 

Let’s Chat

Are you participating in this reading challenge? What are some of your favorite books by Asian authors? I’d love to chat in the comments below ❤

10 thoughts on “Year Of The Asian Reading Challenge || Cute Cobras And Asian Authors

  1. OMG the books you’ve chosen are awesome! good luck with your TBR ❤ my favorite of the ones you listed would probably be DESCENDANT OF THE CRANE or GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE

    (also have you read The Astonishing Color of After because you neeeeeeed that one!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment