Top Ten Tuesday: Around the World

Top Ten Tuesday is a book blog meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s prompt is Books That Take Place in Another Country. Since I live in America, I’ll be listing books that don’t take place in America. I’m mostly using real places, with a few exceptions for fictional worlds that are clearly based on a real place. Most books I read that take place in the real world are contemporary high school-ish stories that all tend to take place in America, so this was surprisingly hard!

1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: Regency England. Balls. Manors. Dresses. And England! I love this book!

Image result for pride and prejudice book

2. Just One Day by Gayle Forman: Gayle Forman is such a master of beautiful romances ❤ The “One Day” takes place in Paris and takes up half the book, and most of the other half is across various places in Europe. A tiny bit is in America, but it’s all about Europe (where I’ve always wanted to go!).

Image result for just one day

3. Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley: I’m not 100% sure where this book is set, and it doesn’t really matter to the plot, but I’m pretty sure it’s set in Australia, where the author is from, which is cool! The school system described there seems different, and it mentions the Indian Ocean ❤

Related image

4. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte: This one takes place right around Jane Austen time! It’s a completly different setting, out in the middle of nowhere country, but still cool England 🙂

Image result for wuthering heights

5. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling: Definitely England here! Not that that silly muggle part of England that we see in other books matters at all because, HELLO, WIZARDING WORLD?

Image result for harry potter philosopher's stone

6. Cinder by Marissa Meyer: So this isn’t technically another country today, but it’s set in the future, which means in our world, not an alternate world. In New Bejing. Aka Asia 🙂

Related image

7. Serpentine by Cindy Pon: This one is pretty much set in an alternate, high fantasy world, but it’s very clearly influenced by/based on Asia, so I’m going to give it that!

Image result for serpentine cindy pon

8. Maid of Secrets by Jennifer McGowan: Set in England, revolving around a spy for the queen! Sounds super exciting, right 😀

Image result for maid of secrets

9. Wendy Darling by Colleen Oakes: Okay this is set in Neverland which isn’t technically a country, so eh. But the real world part is also set in the Darling’s home in London so yay!

Related image

10. The Chronicles of Narnia: The ones that don’t take place in Narnia take place in England 😀

Related image

Well this was way harder than I thought it would be, and that’s not a good thing; I definitely need to read more literature from different places! Any recommendations? Be sure to comemnt and I’ll check out your TTT 🙂

56 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Around the World

  1. I found this tricky this week too. I realise I read either a lot of US books or books set in Europe! I love the idea of including other worlds!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see Narnia, and “Pride and Prejudice” on the list. Always fun to add in some classics. I might have to take a closer look at some of Gayle Foreman’s other novels since I didn’t hate “If I Stay” (as I thought I might), and I have “Words in Deep Blue” on my shelf, so someday I simply MUST read that one. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland, Kay.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my favorite things to do is virtually traveling through the books I read so I pick them up all the time from various places around the world. I’m really beginning to feel like I know England pretty well through all the books I read taking place there. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Even books from around the US are fun for me since there are tons of places there I haven’t been either. 🙂 Just finished one for Nantucket and it felt like I was there enjoying the sunshine right along with the characters. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s tricky whether to count books set in alternative worlds!

    I’m always on the lookout for books from other places. Thank you for your list!

    I hope you will stop by and take a look at my list.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I didn’t do a TTT this week but oh gosh I don’t know if I could come up with enough places for this prompt! Maybe I’ll do it anyway and schedule the post back. I mean, that counts too right?! Haha!

    I have yet to read Pride and Prejudice! I hear so many good things about it and I’m not exactly sure why I haven’t picked it up yet!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Same! And well, our country gets a few mentions here and there, which I cherish so much! The action is never set here, but we might get a mention if we’re lucky 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment