2021 Mid Year Freak Out Tag

what’s this? two posts in a week after no posts for two months?? I know I’m just as surprised as you are but here we are!

We are way past the mid point of the year, something I am choosing to not think about. But here we are anyways so let’s go with it. It’s still mid year until I go back to school, right?

Also I’m literally 20 now as of July so… exciting very exciting happy birthday to me but also very much freak out I guess I’m not a teen blogger anymore rip.

Also I doubt anyone will be doing this tag even later than me but if you want to copy my post know I didn’t answer all the questions lmao because I’m a rebel.

asset 5

Best Book You’ve Read This Year?

44012880

Fable // I read this book in January I think and it was so captivating to be swept away to this magical world on the high seas checks out!

asset 1

Best Sequel You’ve Read This Year?

49392936

Bookish and the Beast // This isn’t even a sequel, I guess it’s a companion book to two others, but I did really enjoy it, which is more than I can say about the two legit sequels I’ve read this year.

asset 1

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To?

I have so many lmao I couldn’t just pick one so I’ll rattle off a few.

  • Counting Down With You
  • Luck of The Titanic
  • A Pho Love Story
  • Tokyo Ever After
  • Lost in the Never Woods

Yeah I’m really not on top of my new releases hAHA.

asset 1

Most Anticipated Release For The Second Half Of The Year?

44084762. sy475

Our Violent Ends // Nobody is surprised, considering These Violent Delights took over my life briefly when I read it last year and I’m obsessed. I’m just saying I would sell my soul for an ARC, that’s all. (@simon and schuster pls)

asset 1

Biggest Disappointment?

36307674. sy475

Rule of Wolves // I didn’t really have high hopes considering I didn’t really like King of Scars, but I got myself obsessed with the grishaverse again when Shadow and Bone Netflix came out and wow was this really bad. My conclusion: Leigh Bardugo isn’t an actually amazing author, she just a good author whowrote an amazing duology and a bunch of other mediocre books.

asset 1

Biggest Surprise?

45044785

The Silvered Serpents // Not in a good way lmao I was surprised at how bad I thought this was compared to everyone gushing about it. Not as bad as Rule of Wolves though so there’s that.

asset 1

Book That Made You Cry?

21816586

No No Boy // I read this for my ethnic studies class if it doesn’t seem like my usual lol but I really enjoyed it, if in its sad and moving way. It didn’t make me cry, but it was really sad and made me think, especially since it’s based on a real dark spot in history.

asset 1

Book That Made You Happy?

53138158

You Have A Match // Apparently last year for this I put Tweet Cute so the conclusion is that Emma Lord just makes me happy. You Have A Match had so many fun summer camp vibes that I just adored!

asset 1

Favorite Book To Film Adaptation?

Shadow and Bone // I mean, this is pretty obvious, right? I got obsessed with it for a while.

asset 1

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year?

54618808. sy475

XOXO // I haven’t actually bought a book this year (thx library!)but this is the most beautiful book I’ve read! And I loved it so much and also this adorable cover is literally printed on the hardcover so ahhhh I want!!

asset 1

What Books Do You Need To Read By The End Of The Year?

I’ll refer you to my list of my anticipated 2021 releases, of which I have only read 3 out of 20 so far lmao.

asset 5

Let’s Chat

How has your reading been this year? What’s your favorite book so far? Have you read any I mentioned? I’d love to chat in the comments below ❤

purplename

9 thoughts on “2021 Mid Year Freak Out Tag

  1. Ooh the Shadow and Bone TV show was so good! 🤩

    I think that my favourite book that I’ve read so far this year has to be The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – it was such an impactful read 🥰

    Like

  2. I am so so excited for Our Violent ends too! I’m sad that rule of wolves disappointed you but it seems to be the case for most people so I’m def not looking forward to reading it 😦

    Like

  3. AHHHHHH SO HAPPY TO BE READING A POST FROM YOU AGAIN KAY! [I’ve missed you like CRAZY].

    First of all:✨ HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY✨. Welcome to the hallowed halls of the twentys – it’s honestly the BEST time.

    Second: “Leigh Bardugo isn’t an actually amazing author, she just a good author who wrote an amazing duology and a bunch of other mediocre books.” OMG THAT’S THE TEA RIGHT THERE SIS. I had the exact same experience. I got caught up in the show but the books don’t hold a candle to the series. They’re honestly mediocre at best.

    Also, sorry I’ve been MIA for so long. Melbourne has gotten a little too real the past year [we’re now onto lockdown #6] so I needed to step away for a bit while I sorted out my mental health. But I can’t wait for our legendary chats again. Hope you’ve been well, much love! 💙💙💙

    Like

Leave a comment